Iggy Pop Announces New Album ‘Every Loser’, Shares New Song ‘Frenzy’


Photo by Vincent Guignet

Legendary godfather of punk, Iggy Pop, has announced his 19th studio album, Every losersequel to 2019 Freewhich will be released on January 26, 2023. While Free was considered a dark and contemplative work, Pop guarantees that the new record is a loud, no-frills rock record.

Every loser will incorporate Pop’s primordial rock and punk roots with a modern, lyrical point of view and sonic palette. The album was recorded by a cast of young studio musicians led by renowned producer Andrew Watt. Watt, whose recording credits span artists like Justin Bieber, Post Malone, Dua Lipa, Ozzy Osbourne and Eddie Vedder and the Earthlings, played a key role in bringing the record to fruition.

“Iggy Pop is a fucking icon,” Watt said in a press release. “A true original. The guy invented the stage dive. I still can’t believe he let me make a record with him. I am honored. It’s not cooler. This album was created to be played as loud as your stereo will go. Mount it and wait.

The disc’s intricacies don’t stop at the music: the 11 tracks will be accompanied by an album cover designed by world-renowned contemporary artist Raymond Pettibon. Pettibon, who first gained recognition for his punk-inspired anti-authoritarian art in the late 1970s, has previously designed album covers for such iconic bands as Sonic Youth and Black Flag. Every Loser’s artwork will be exhibited in a variety of mediums. The album will be released digitally with limited edition vinyl, cassette and CD. Otherwise, Every defeatr will be accompanied by an exclusive zine relaunch PUNK magazine. The issue will be all about all things Iggy Pop, with an extensive interview between Pop and iconic bassist virtuoso Flea.

In a statement, Pop gave his views on the upcoming album. “I’m the ripping shirtless guy; Andrew (Watt) and Gold Tooth (Records) understand that, and we made a record together the old-fashioned way,” Pop proclaimed. “The players are guys I’ve known since they were kids and the music will beat you.” It seems that with a career spanning over 50 years, it’s clear that Iggy Pop’s sense of creativity and punk rock sensibility are as strong as they’ve ever been.

Pre-register Every loser digitally here and pre-order vinyl, CDs, cassettes or zines here.

Every loser Track list

1. Frenzy
2. Uptight Johnny
3. New Atlantis
4. Modern day scam
5. Morning show
6. News for Andy
7. Neo Punk
8. All the way down
10. My Animus Interlude
11. The Regency


Comments are closed.